clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The AC Milan Women vs Hellas Verona on Matchday One

The first of many (obviously)

Zurich v AC Milan: UEFA Women’s Champions League - League Path Group 1 Semi-Final Photo by AC Milan/AC Milan via Getty Images

After their Champions League campaign came to a premature end, the AC Milan Women are ready to focus on the league.

The Rossonere will begin their season on Sunday, August 29th. And they’ll begin their campaign with a match against Hellas Verona. The team is looking to not only qualify for the Champions League again but to end the season with a trophy.

Last season, Milan won sixteen matches and lost three games. They also tied three of them. The team also scored 47 goals and conceded 17 in the process.

Verona, on the other hand, only won six games last season. They drew three of them and lost thirteen.

The last time the two teams play each other ended in a 2-2 tie. The match was the final game of the season for both teams and came after the Rossonere secured UWCL qualification.

There was also a heavy turnover in the squad for Milan, with starters like Giacinti and Fusetti rested for the match.

This time around, it’s more likely that the team fields a full-strength lineup. The team will alternate between playing either a 3-4-1-2, a 3-5-2, or a 4-2-1-3. Milan plays better with four at the back but we’ll see what formation they take the field in.

But the more important thing is, let’s hope they begin the season with a victory.


Match Info

Kickoff time: 17:30 CET (8:30 am PST / 11:30 am EST)

Where: The Vismara in Milan, Italy

How to watch: TimVision, Milan TV, the official AC Milan app, on the team’s Dailymotion page