clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Official: AC Milan Sign Binding Agreement With The European Club Association (ECA) Resuming Membership

Milan are back in for the 2019-23 cycle,

AC Milan

AC Milan have been reinstituted to the European Club Association (ECA) following some conflict with the organisation over their part in the European Super League (ESL) project. Milan are one of nine clubs who quit the ESL and thus have resumed their full membership of the ECA for the current cycle.

As per the press release from the ECA:

“Following the receipt by ECA of specific requests asking the ECA Board to consider the withdrawal of their previous resignation requests of April 2021, the ECA Executive Board has agreed that the following clubs will retain their ECA ordinary membership for the current 2019-23 ECA membership cycle: AC Milan, Arsenal FC, Chelsea FC, Club Atlético de Madrid, FC Internazionale Milano, Liverpool FC, Manchester City FC, Manchester United FC and Tottenham Hotspur FC (“Clubs”).

In its decision, and after an exhaustive process of re-engagement by the Clubs and re-assessment by ECA over recent months, the ECA Executive Board took into consideration the Clubs’ acknowledgement that the so-called European Super League project (“ESL Project”) was not in the interests of the wider football community and their publicly communicated decisions to abandon said ESL Project completely. The ECA Board also acknowledged the Clubs’ stated willingness to engage actively with ECA in its collective mission to develop European club football – in the open and transparent interests of all, not the few.”