clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

AC Milan v Novara: Preview and How to Watch Milan’s first preseason match

Milan’s 2018-19 season starts today

AC Milan v Cagliari Calcio - Serie A Photo by Marco Luzzani/Getty Images

AC Milan will be taking on Novara in their first preseason match of the season today.

Milan will be looking to build upon last season’s sixth place finish in Serie A, and will also be looking to start preparations for the International Champions Cup matches that will be played later this month and early next month in the United States. Milan will also be preparing for the Europa League, as the Court of Arbitration for Sport ruled today that UEFA’s European football ban should be overturned.

Novara endured a rough 2017-18 season, as they were relegated from Serie B to Serie C. Novara, fans might remember, played in Serie A back in 2011-12 and despite a famous victory over Inter Milan in their first season back in Serie A since the 1950s, they were relegated and haven’t been back since.

If you want to tune into the match, you’re in luck, as the club is streaming the match live from it’s Twitter page. Click the link above or go to Twitter.com/acmilan at 5 PM CEST, 4 PM BST, or 11 AM EDT to see Rossonero line up for the first time this season.

Being a preseason match, the main goal of the match will be to build match fitness and perhaps get the new players into the match to play with each other, so results in preseason friendlies don’t matter very much at all.

New signing Ivan Strinic will likely not be involved, as he’s still almost certainly on break after playing in the World Cup final, but Alen Halilovic may be involved, and Pepe Reina may also get into the match.

Do not expect to see Nikola Kalinic or Carlos Bacca, as both strikers are likely leaving the club in the very near future.

So will you turn in to see the match? Excited to see the club back on the pitch? Tune into the match thread or see you on Twitter!